ISO 45001 – Safety Management System

ISO 45001 : 2018
AS/NZS 4801 : 2001


ISO 45001:2018 sets out an internationally accepted framework for a safety management system. It can be utilised and implemented by any organisation whether, large or small, regardless of its field of activity.

Publisher: International Organization for Standardization
Current version (published date): 03-2018
Original Publication Date: 03-2018
Other Names:
  • SMS (Safety Management System)
    (Occupational health and safety management system)
  • 45001
  • OHSAS 18001*
  • AS/NZS 4801*
*See FAQ
Other Standards
Commonly Implemented:

ISO 45001 is the first international Occupational Health and Safety Management System [standard] (OHSMS), whereas AS/NZS 4801 is the Australian OHSMS.
Often a legal and/or contractual obligation required when tendering for large / governmental work.

The standard can be broken down into 7 major areas of a safety management system:
  • Context of the organization
  • Leadership
  • Planning
  • Support
  • Operation
  • Performance evaluation
  • Improvement
ISO state that Implementing an efficient OHSMS will, 'help manage and potentially reduce workplace incidents and injuries'. Having this system certified will promote safety to your employees & customers, allowing you to tender on more contracts and meet legal obligations.

Q. Is it ISO 45001 or AS/NZS 4801?

A.Firstly, 'ISO' is an international standard, whereas 'AS/NZS' is an Australian and New Zealand standard.
As of 03/2018, ISO 45001 became the first internationally published & accepted management system standard for OH&S, implying that AS/NZS 4801 will be superseded along with OHSAS 18001.

Q. Cost of ISO 45001 Certification?

A. Certification costs can vary greatly depending on a number of factors, including your current and future needs. We suggest utilising CC-Connect to help determine your costs.

Q. How long does it take to develop & implement a OHSMS?

A. Depending on your current system and industry of operation, the system can be internally developed and implemented within, 3 - 6+* months.
*Note: An in-house safety expert or engaging external assistance can reduce the time.

Q. We are certified to AS/NZS 4801 / OHSAS 18001 - what now?

A. Transitioning from your current standard to ISO 45001, will be required*.
If you are certified to AS/NZS 4801, JASANZ will release guidelines for transitioning to the new standard. Your current certification body should then communicate this with your organisation.
*Note: You will have 3 years (by: 2021) to transition over to ISO 45001

ISO 45001 & AS/NZS 4801

Certification process in 6 steps
Click the image to read our article on the 6 step overview of the certification process.
From 'Readiness Review through' to 'Re-certification'